meg says watch this, Watch This

Watch This: The Disaster Artist Teaser

Tallahassee used to have this great spot called The Hop Yard. They had a beer garden, and an entertainment stage, and pretty white lights and picnic benches, and they served a variety of craft beer. Many a night were spent there – in my last few years in the city it was definitely one of my favorite places to hang out. We had celebrations, goodbye parties, random weeknights, and occasionally I’d go by myself (which wasn’t ever a big deal because the people who showed up were awesome, and would I be me if I passed up an opportunity to see a summer screening of Almost Famous on the big screen? I think not.) One of the coolest events they’d put on, was throwing up a big projector screen and having movie night. (Everything from Elf to Rocky Horror Picture Show to Clueless.) It probably comes as no surprise that this was right up my ally. Well, my friend Jackie and I were pretty much regulars, and one night they were showing the 2003 movie The Room. Neither of us had ever seen it, (or heard of it at that point) and had no idea what to expect. Boy were we in for an entertaining evening. Admittedly this film is kind of horrible, but it definitely brings truth to the “so bad it’s good” idea. Some have even called it, “the worst movie ever made.” I say it’s a viewing experience.
All that being said, James Franco is directing a movie that is “the story of the making of The Room” based on Greg Sestero’s book. Awesome idea right? The film stars James Franco, Dave Franco, Seth Rogen, Josh Hutcherson,  Zac Efron, Hannibal Buress, Melanie Griffith, Sharon Stone, and more…. There’s been chatter about the film floating around for a while, but the first teaser trailer for The Disaster Artist was released today. I might’ve already watched it three times. We have a while until the December 8th wide release date (info from the Wiki page), so you have time to watch The Room if you haven’t seen it yet. In the meantime, enjoy this teaser trailer…
Leave a Comment

