meg says watch this, Watch This

Watch This: The Bold Type

Confession: I guess I lied when I said I probably wouldn’t watch Freeform anymore after Pretty Little Liars ended. Well, I was wrong because something magical slipped into that 9pm time slot. My favorite show on television right now is Freeform’s The Bold Type. Yes, I love Game of Thrones in all of  its dragon splendor, but The Bold Type just speaks to me. The show follows three friends in New York City, working for a women’s magazine called Scarlett.  I want Jacqueline to be my life coach. I want to sit on the floor in that merchandising closet with my girl friends and figure out life – how to pay your rent when you just took a job that pays less than you were making, or commiserating when you had a meltdown and yelled at your boss in the middle of the office, or when you started a relationship that could actually be great and got scared and broke it off on an impulse. The acting is brilliant. If it were any other show, these plots delivered by any other actresses you would think it was cheesy. No. Here, they’re delivered with sass, wit, class. The execution is spot on. The writing is fabulous. Honestly, I wish I could be a fly on the wall in their writer’s room, just to pick these genius’s brains. (Hence why I follow them on Twitter.) The creators of The Bold Type found a way to combine the funny one liners from Pretty Little Liars, with the heart of girlfriendship of Sex and the City, and the grit of relatable dramas like This Is Us or Gilmore Girls. Sure there are jokes, there are quirky story lines, but at the end of the day it’s people taking care of each other. These girls are seriously going after their dreams, (kicking their heels off and running down city streets barefoot to go after what they want – style.) I think you could be a twenty something, thirty something, forty, fifty etc. something and find a way to relate to this show. The pep talks Jacqueline gives the girls, or they give each other, or their coworkers pass along – they’re pep talks we all need to hear sometimes. It’s a good reminder watching other people make mistakes, that one screw up isn’t the end of the world. Your most mortifying moments will be put behind you, and you’ll move on – growing thicker skin in the journey. As an extra perk the music is wonderful, and I’ve found new songs to obsess over every week. I can not tell you how refreshing this show has been. I look forward to Tuesdays knowing it will make me laugh, cry, contemplate, or push myself to change my circumstances. You can access FreeForm online and catch up on the episodes. It airs Tuesday nights on Freeform. No one is paying me to type this, or promote it, (though hey – I wouldn’t hate it, haha.) I’m just sincerely obsessed with this show, and want everyone I know to give it a shot! Don’t miss the latest episode airing tonight!

Leave a Comment

