listen to this, meg says listen to this, Uncategorized

Meg Says Listen to This: “Send the Sun”

My word, I am sucker for a sweet song and especially one that mentions sunshine. Maybe it’s one of those things that’s always carried on with me from the love of “You Are My Sunshine” song as a child? Who knows, but you play me a sweet song and I’m hooked. I heard Nikki Lane’s “Send the Sun” recently, and I thought to myself what is this beautiful piece of art? It speaks to distance and to darkness, but also to turning towards the light. Someone trying to assure someone of their love from miles away, and make them feel their love and warmth. Lane’s voice is smooth and steady and really seems to convey that heartfelt wish to a person out of reach at the time. One of those where you hear it, and you feel it. And I swear I’ve had the line “Darlin’ we’re starin’ at the same moon” in my head for a week, especially with the full moon hanging in the sky recently. Simple and sweet, but so memorable all at once. Let me tell you, if you listen to this one in the morning, it’s a pretty great way to start your day. If you haven’t heard this one, check it out.

Leave a Comment

